SI CATHERINE 3 CHURCH UPIVI 20 IVIAT 202	ST CATHERINE'S CHURCH	6РМ	20 May 2024
--	-----------------------	-----	--------------------

Members Present:

Councillors: Steve Cooper (Chair), Mark Jefferies, John Watkins, Steph Toogood, James Toogood, Steve Milford, Julie Hutchison and Cassie Bailey.

31/24

Katherine Baldwin (Town Clerk); Morgan Williams (VTC) and 24 members of the public.

MINUTE SUBJECT

30/24 **APOLOGIES** Councillor Ian Bond

DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no Declarations of Interest received.

32/24 **APPOINTMENTS OF MAYOR AND DEPUTY MAYOR**

Councillor Steve Cooper chaired this item as the Town Mayor for 2023/24.

- a) It was proposed by Councillor Julie Hutchison, seconded by Councillor Steve Milford and resolved that Councillor Steve Cooper be appointed as Chair of the Council and Town Mayor until the next Annual Town Council Meeting.
- b) It was proposed by Councillor Steve Cooper, seconded by Councillor Cassie Bailey and resolved that Councillor Steph Toogood be appointed as Deputy Chair of the Council and Deputy Town Mayor until the next Annual Town Council Meeting.

33/24 **APPOINTMENTS OF COMMITTEES**

Councillor Steve Cooper explained that a new Committee structure had been agreed at the Extraordinary Council meeting held on 15 May 2024.

It was unanimously agreed:

- a) To appoint Councillor Steve Cooper as the Chair of the Policies and Resources Committee and to appoint Councillors Ian Bond, Steve Milford, Cassie Bailey and Julie Hutchison as members of the Policies and Resources Committee.
- b) To appoint Councillor John Watkins as Chair of the Planning Committee and to appoint Councillors James Toogood, Steph Toogood and Dave Logan as members of the Planning Committee.

- c) To appoint Councillor Mark Jefferies as Chair of the Environment and Transport Committee and to appoint Councillors Steve Milford, Julie Hutchison, Steve Cooper and Ian Bond as members of the Environment and Transport Committee.
- d) To appoint Councillor Steph Toogood as the Chair of the Business and Community Committee and to appoint Councillors John Watkins, Cassie Bailey and Dave Logan as members of the Business and Community Committee.
- e) To appoint Councillor Ian Bond as Chair of the Building and Maintenance Committee and to appoint Councillors James Toogood, Steph Toogood and Mark Jefferies as members of the Building and Maintenance Committee.

It was noted that there is one vacancy on the Business and Community Committee and one vacancy on the Building and Maintenance Committee.

34/24 OTHER APPOINTMENTS

- a) **It was unanimously resolved** that Councillor Steph Toogood be appointed as the voting representative for IWALC (Isle of Wight Association of Local Councils) and Councillor Cassie Deputy. Councillor Steve Cooper noted that he is currently Vice Chair of IWALC.
- b) It was unanimously resolved that Councillor Steve Cooper be appointed as the main representative for the Rew Valley Sports Hall Steering Working Group and Councillor Dave Logan as the deputy.

Councillor Steve Cooper noted that meeting of the Rew Valley Sports Hall Steering Working Group had not yet taken place. The Working Group had been set up due to the lease expiring and to facilitate discussions about community use of the hall on weekday evenings and during weekends.

35/24 GENERAL POWER OF COMPETENCE

The requirements a Town or Parish Council must fulfil to be eligible to exercise the General Power of Competence are:

- Two-thirds of its Members must have been elected or stood for election;
- The Town Clerk must hold one of the recognised qualifications including that for the General Power of Competence.

Councillor Steve Cooper noted that the Council did not meet the requirements for GPC as it did not meet the threshold with regard to the number of elected members.

It was resolved that:

Ventnor Town Council notes that as it at this time does not meet the conditions of eligibility required to exercise the General Power of Competence as set out in the Parish Councils (General Power of Competence) (Prescribed Conditions) Order 2012.

Councils (General Power of Competence)			
The meeting closed at 6:30pm			
SIGNED BY THE MAYOR	Date		